Skip to content

Amy Smith Makes History with Election to Chair Saratoga County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors

Amy Smith Makes History with Election to Chair Saratoga County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors

Smith will lead the Chamber’s board, comprised of 27 volunteers, throughout 2023

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. – Amy Smith, owner of the Saratoga Arms Hotel, located on Broadway in Saratoga Springs, became the new volunteer Chair of the Saratoga County Chamber of Commerce’s Board of Directors, effective January 1, 2023. Her mother, Kathleen Smith, held this same leadership position in 1998, becoming the first mother-daughter combination to lead the Chamber’s Board in its 105-year history.

“My family is grateful to live in and serve this incredible community,” said Smith. “We believe the Chamber played a key role in the city’s turnaround, especially during the recent pandemic. Numerous local businesses, non-profits, local leaders, and residents count on the Chamber to be a visible and vocal leader. I’m honored to take on the responsibilities of this position as we look to move forward – from surviving to thriving once again.”

Joining Smith in leading the Chamber’s Board of Directors are: Tara Pleat, of Wilcenski & Pleat, as immediate past-chair; Chad Kiesow, of Stewart’s Shops, as chair-elect for 2024; Randy Metevier, of Applied Materials, as vice chair; and Eric Hennessey, of UHY Advisors, as treasurer and secretary. As chair, Smith, appointed three local leaders to serve one-year terms on the 2023 Board, including: Najja Thompson, of the New York Thoroughbred Breeders Association; Maggie Fronk, of Wellspring; and Johanna Friedman, of the Saratoga Springs City School District.

The Saratoga County Chamber of Commerce’s Board has a total of 27 members. Those who were newly elected to begin a three-year term starting January 1, 2023, include: Paul Loomis, of Gilbane Building Company; Alexandra Gutelius, of the Clifton Park-Halfmoon Public Library; Tom Bellhouse, of West Point Thoroughbreds; Chris Lyons, of AIM Services; Jill Van Kuren, of Saratoga Hospital; Terri Stripling, of Ten80 Education, LLC; Nil Ghoshal, of Polyset; and Jacqui Conrad, of Skidmore College.

The remaining  members of the 2023 Board of Directors includes: Dennis Kiingati, of Hamlet and Ghost; Charlie Wait, of the Adirondack Trust Company; Melissa Ward, of New Ward Development; Andy Wise, of Saratoga National Bank; Vince Laurenzo, of Quick Response; David Rosenberg, of Brix Wine and Liquor; Kim Ireland, of National Grid; Melissa Johnson, of Target Distribution Center; Heath Ames, of Cantina; John Rogan, of Saratoga Eagle; and Sue Commanda, of Hudson River Community Credit Union.

“In 2023, our Board’s focus will be maximizing member engagement, while also expanding programming for our impact sector,” Smith added. “We look forward to continuing the WNYT collaboration of its Upstate of Business segment, shining a spotlight on local businesses. We are proud to, once again, be Saratoga County’s tourism promotion agency. In addition, we will open participation to our Saratoga County Restaurant Week in March to all local restaurants at no charge, along with the return of the Chamber’s award-winning Love Our Locals $20.23 campaign set for next November and December.”

With offices in Saratoga Springs and Clifton Park, the Saratoga County Chamber of Commerce has an annual budget of approximately $1.8 million and employs nine full-time staff members. The mission of the Chamber is to help local organizations and communities across Saratoga County succeed, grow, and thrive.
About the Saratoga County Chamber of Commerce: Since 1918, the Saratoga County Chamber of Commerce has been opening doors and closing deals for businesses throughout the Saratoga County community. Guided by a strong and sustainable vision, the Chamber leads the way in maintaining and strengthening a healthy business climate, initiating constructive community action, and creating a community where all can thrive.


Leave a Comment
* Required field

Scroll To Top